Online Academic English

IT home working2

Our Academic English course will help prepare you for life at university.

This is a practical course, suitable for all academic specialities, whether you want to study business, science, humanities or any other subject. This online, part-time programme focuses on the academic skills needed to study in the UK.  Remember, when the coronavirus course is over, there will be lots of people returning to study here, so get ahead by focusing on your English language skills now!

The Academic English course is designed to make online learning easy, for both postgraduate and undergraduate students. It focuses on transferrable academic skills that are relevant to all areas of study.

You will practise critical reading and evaluation of a range of academic texts, building and supporting arguments, referencing ideas, listening to lectures and note-taking. You will also have a variety of academic writing tasks.

Online Academic English 7.5

This is a 7.5 hour per week course which runs Monday to Friday from 1.15pm - 2.45pm. This course runs all year round, subject to fixed course start dates

  • Course length, between 1 and 11 weeks = £80 per week
  • Course length, 12 weeks or more = £70 per week 

Online Academic English 7.5  plus General English 15

This is a 22.5 hour per week course which combines the 7.5 hour Academic English course described above with a General English 15 hour course. 

  • Course length, between 1 and 11 weeks = £210 per week
  • Course length, 12 weeks or more = £200 per week

Start dates in 2020 are listed below;

  • Monday 6th January

  • Monday 3rd February

  • Monday 2nd March

  • Monday 30th March

  • Monday 27th April

  • Monday 25th May

  • Monday 29th June

  • Monday 27th July

  • Monday 24th August

  • Monday 21st September

  • Monday 19th October

  • Monday 16th November

They spent a lot of time with me and helped me to start to understand the language. They take time to answer all my questions.
- Yacine Alla (Algeria)

Accreditations
Global School of English - Edinburgh is recognised by UKVI as a Tier 4 sponsor to bring students into the UK on Tier 4 General Student Visas under licence number 18EC8KTJ.